Blogging for Compassion

Today I’m starting something new – I am joining the ranks of Compassion bloggers.  September is Blog Month at Compassion and the goal is to sponsor 3,108 children between September 1 and September 30.  So once a week for the month of September I will sharing here about Compassion and how you can help children around the world.

I am hoping many of you will join me in sponsoring a child who needs someone to come along side them, to show them someone cares and to give them the boost they need to fight their way out of poverty.

Your support provides:

  • Food and clean water
  • Medical care
  • Educational opportunities
  • Important life-skills training
  • Most important of all, your sponsored child will hear about Jesus Christ and be encouraged to develop a lifelong relationship with God. (Taken from Compassion International website)

To start things off this morning I went to the Compassion website where I chose a child to sponsor.  God has been putting older children on my heart recently, especially boys who may be close to aging out of the program who have never had a sponsor.  My hope is that as they age out, I will be able to transfer that sponsorship to yet another child about to age out.  I pray that even thought they may have waited a long time or have almost gotten too old for the program, this small gesture can have a life-long impact on their tender hearts.  I chose a boy from Indonesia who shares a birthday with my son, yes even the same year – how cool is that! – and one who will hopefully now have a better chance in life.

Won’t you join the fight against poverty around the world by sponsoring a child this month?  Oh, and if you do, would you acknowledge me as the blogger who referred you?  Just in case I might qualify for the Compassion bloggers trip they are giving away.  Thanks so much and God bless each and every one of you!

Leave a Reply

