Part 2 – What Bothers Me About Church These Days

When I shared part one of this title several days ago, I had no expectation that there would ever be a part two; who knows, maybe there will be more than two. The response has been a surprise to me and I want to thank everyone who read and shared and commented. I will say this – I scribbled that out and threw it on the blog in a very short amount of time and when it took off I started getting quite nervous. I wasn’t sure that I had really thought through all of it, and I’m sure there were points that not everyone agreed on (and I’m trying to be okay with that). It did become apparent that there were other people who shared some of my thoughts. I don’t have this figured out by any stretch and I’m sure there are holes in my arguments, so I appreciate the thoughtful dialogue so far.

This subject is huge and space and time do allow to cover it all at once, and as such this was certainly not an exhaustive piece. There are many angles, perspectives and experiences that play into this conversation, and that’s where you come in.

This is what I would love for us to do. I would like to hear from you. I would love to hear your stories of how this kind of thing has or has not played out in your experience. You are welcome to share thoughts about what hasn’t worked, ideas about what could maybe work, stories of things that have worked. Maybe you would like to expound further on a particular thought or idea.

Would you be willing to do that? Share your story? Pose your questions? You may leave your feedback, story, ideas, encouragement and/or questions in the comment section here or if you’d rather, send me an email by going to the “About” button at the top of this page. I have two requests: 1. Please comment graciously. 2. Please do not comment anonymously. I am not necessarily asking that you give your real name on screen, but please leave an email address in the available space so that I will be able to follow up with questions or comments privately if I so desire. The other option is to send me an email directly. The privacy of everyone will be honored, so if you don’t want to use your real name, I’m fine with that as long as I am able to contact you in some way. I reserve the right to not publish comments that do not honor these requests.

One more thing – would you share this with your friends who may interested in having their story heard?

God has us on this path together for this time – let’s walk with each other.

The fantastic reality is this – we are all One in Christ Jesus our Lord!

“[W]e are all one in Christ Jesus.” Galatians 3:28

One thought on “Part 2 – What Bothers Me About Church These Days

  1. I have been thinking a lot in the last year of some of these things…possibly partly because of decisions we (my husband and I and our three, young children) need to make and places we need to go. What I come down to is this: Why are we here? What did Jesus leave with us to do? What is His desire for us in this between time? (between His time here on earth, and His return) And I wonder if we are missing that? Are we missing the point? Are we doing what He left for us to do? And if we would be, would some of these traps and snares and ditches fall away?

Leave a Reply

